Details


Series
Book 1
Order of The Krigers

Published
May 17, 2016

Publisher
Month9Books

ISBN
9781944816667

Genre
Romance
Speculative Fiction
Fantasy


Rise
by Jennifer Anne Davis   



Summary

The people of Nelebek live in fear of persecution from the evil Morlet, who reigns with a dark and destructive magic. The kingdom’s only hope lies with the Order of the Krigers—twelve warriors with mysterious powers linked to magical weapons.

For over a century, Morlet has been annihilating the Order, picking them off one by one. Eleven Krigers have been hunted down, tortured, and imprisoned in his dungeon. Now, only one remains.

Sixteen-year-old Kaia survives by keeping her head down and minding her own business. But when she finds herself in the middle of a public execution where the mysterious Morlet is in attendance, an odd compulsion she can’t resist comes over her.

Kaia looks into Morlet’s eyes.

Soon, an ancient power awakens and Kaia can no more blend into the scenery. Will she heed the call of the Krigers or will Morlet’s dark magic destroy the last of the Order?

Fans of GRACELING and THE GIRL OF FIRE AND THORNS will enjoy RISE, book one in the RISE OF THE KRIGERS series from international bestselling author Jennifer Anne Davis.

Review

"A story which justifies the cover!"  By Zil 1 year ago

- rating
- story
- characters


Review

The story is set in old times when a village is ruled by a king. The King who has ruled the village of Nelebek for over a century is cruel and inhuman, and who uses dark magic and kills without mercy. The soldats (soldiers) of the king are just as cruel, picking people off the streets and killing them ruthlessly in search of the last elusive Krigar. The twelve Krigars who have been predicted to bind their magic together and put an end to the evil King's reign by killing him, eleven of them which are already captured by the King.
Sixteen-year-old Kaia lives with her ill father, surviving by practicing combat and keeping her head down. All of which is ruined when by turn of unexpected events she finds out that she is the last Krigar and the only female one at that. Now, what should Kaia do? Should she trust the handsome assassin who just saved her or should she try to survive on her own?

This isn't a fast paced story; it is a heavy one with vivid descriptions which will make you shudder, make you angry but wouldn't let you stop. The best thing about the story is that it perfectly justifies the cover, if you get what I mean, and also how strong as well as emphatic Kaia is. She won't take crap from anyone and isn't afraid to kick some ass. Love a killer heroine who may end up falling for the enemy? Well then, you just found your story ;)