Details


Published
April 5, 2016

Publisher
Delacorte Press

ISBN
9780399552939

ASIN
B011G3HBFQ

Genre
Romance
Contemporary


Tell Me Three Things
by Julie Buxbaum   



Summary

What if the person you need the most is someone you’ve never met?

Funny and romantic, this tug-at-your-heartstrings contemporary YA debut is perfect for readers of Rainbow Rowell, Jennifer Niven, and E. Lockhart.

Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week as a junior at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. It’s been barely two years since her mother’s death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son.

Just when she’s thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago, she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?

In a leap of faith—or an act of complete desperation—Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can’t help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved?

Review

"One of the best contemporary YA novels I've read this year"  By Ashia 1 year ago

- rating
- story
- characters


Review

TELL ME THREE THINGS is a generally a feel good, romantic YA novel. Though it deals with the heroine's grief at the death of her mother and its aftermath, there's also something to balance it out--friendship and first love.

Jessie's father remarried and upended her life when he moved them both to LA (from Chicago) to live with her new stepmother and stepbrother. It wasn't easy for Jessie to adjust to her new life, being away from best friend Scarlett and her father was no help at all. So when somebody called Somebody Nobody (SN) sent her an email, offering to help her navigate her new school, she accepts and so begins an unusual friendship...

I love love love this story! Even though I'm way past YA age, this story brings me back to my high school days, though I have to admit, teenagers have it much easier back then.

I love how the author handled Jessie's grief and her memories of her mom. It was beautifully done, making us see and empathize with the heroine without descending into melodramatic sentimentality. If you're like me, you might want a hanky or some tissues at hand as you read. Jessie's plight made me realize how lucky I am that my mom's still here and how I don't appreciate her enough.

And how cool (cool beans!) is the email/IM secret admirer angle. Though it didn't start out that way, feelings on both sides developed as each teen gets to know the other via their daily texts. Their exchanges is one of the best things of this book and something I look forward to. It was romantic and mysterious and did I say it's one of the best parts of this story? SN is totally drool-worthy; I almost like him better than his real self! Oooh, have I said how I love how they tell each other three things about themselves everyday? I wish though there could have been more romantic moments/scenes between Jessie and SN's real self, but I guess there's no point to this for the plot. It's just I love these two characters a lot and I'd have loved to see more of their interaction in their real selves now that the truth is out. Maybe a sequel?

I guess one of reasons this story resonates with me is due to Jessie's voice, which is engaging, brave, and not at all whiny for a young person who must have felt like she was in over her head most of the time, especially at the beginning. But she soldiered on, showing her to be strong and stealthy like a ninja, even if she didn't know it.

Overall, TELL ME THREE THINGS is one of the best contemporary YA novels I've read this year. A must read!

"4.5 STARS!!"  By Terrill Rosado 1 year ago

- rating
- story
- characters


Review

I simply enjoyed this story. It had a sweet and swoony HEA with laugh-out-loud humor throughout. There were just a couple of underdeveloped elements that prevented me from giving it 5 STARS, but besides that - near perfection.